logo_tripadvisor

Three things you should know

Reviewed February 2015 by user tokross on Tripadvisor

Loved this hotel and will definitely return if back in Lugano. However, you should be aware of a few things before you go…

1. The hotel is very reasonable and no more than a 5-10 minute stroll to the lake. For the price, highly recommend this hotel and this location. The rooms are very nice. Good beds, nice linens, beautiful curtains, nice bathroom, traditional feel.

2. The hotel does not have fancy key card locks; opting instead for the old school physical key. This is very quaint. However, the doors DO NOT LOCK automatically when you leave your room. Be sure to remember to lock your door.

3. The train station is just up the hill from the hotel. This creates a physical barrier that can make it difficult to drive to the hotel. Our friends gave up and simply dropped us at the Anacapri Ristorante. Not a big deal unless you mind walking up and down the steep hill.

Overall, we loved this place and would recommend it to those traveling without unlimited expense reports.

Hotel Federale Lugano
Guest reviews
Recensioni

The family atmosphere of the staff is really nice

Review posted in March 2015 by anonymous guest
Total 8.8
Position 7
Comfort 10
Price & Quality Comparison 8
Service 8
Staff 10
Cleanliness 10

The family atmosphere of the staff is really nice and also their collaboration with the guests.

Hotel Federale Lugano
Guest reviews
Recensioni

Very convenient location. Definitely recommended

Review posted in March 2015 by anonymous guest
Total 9.2
Position 9
Comfort 8
Price & Quality Comparison 9
Service 9
Staff 10
Cleanliness 10

Very convenient location. Close (short walk) to everything important in Lugano. Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed staying there with family. Definitely recommended.

Hotel Federale Lugano
Guest reviews
Recensioni

Great location for week-end. To recommend

Review posted in February 2015 by guest Rocco
Total 8.3
Position 10
Comfort 6
Price & Quality Comparison 8
Service 8
Staff 10
Cleanliness 8

Hotel Federale Lugano
Guest reviews
Recensioni

Very pleasant stay

Review posted in February 2015 by anonymous guest
Total 9
Position 8
Comfort 8
Price & Quality Comparison 8
Service 10
Staff 10
Cleanliness 10

Hotel Federale Lugano
Guest reviews
Recensioni

A very nice stay

Review posted in February 2015 by anonymous guest
Total 9.5
Position 9
Comfort 9
Price & Quality Comparison 10
Service 9
Staff 10
Cleanliness 10

Hotel Federale Lugano
Guest reviews
Recensioni

Very expensive. Good location by train station.

Review posted in February 2015 by anonymous guests
Total 8.3
Position 10
Comfort 8
Price & Quality Comparison 6
Service 8
Staff 10
Cleanliness 8

logo_tripadvisor

Great location and staff

Review posted in March 2015
It was great. Loved the location; we arrived and left by train which is steps away (though there is no noise). Around the corner from Hertz rental and a very short walk into the center of the old town. Incredibly kind and helpful staff.

logo_HRS

Staff were very attentive

Review from February 2015, by Athene
The staff were very attentive and friendly the rooms are nice i like the fact you got face towel along with the towels the hotels has lots of history

Hotel Federale Lugano
Guest reviews
Recensioni

Enjoyed our stay

Review posted in April 2015, by Suzanne
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at Hotel Federale again. We also thank the staff for proving gluten free items for our daughter with Celiac disease.